Herald Sun journalist Jane Harper

Congratulations to Jane Harper!

Jane Harper won the 2015 Victorian Premier’s Award for an Unpublished Manuscript. Her atmospheric novel The Dry has now been acquired in a multi-book deal by Pan Macmillan, and by Little, Brown in the UK and Flatiron in the US, with foreign rights sales to 11 territories so far.
Text Prize image

Kimberley Starr wins the 2015 Text Prize for YA and Children’s Writing!

Publisher Michael Heyward said ‘The Book of Whispers is a heart-stopping adventure ride through a world populated by demons, both real and figurative. It’s about goodness and doing right and, above all, love. Every fan of historical fantasy will want to get their hands on this novel. We look forward to publishing it.’ Congratulations, Kimberley!

The Sydney Morning Herald Best Young Australian Novelists Awards feature 3 Curtis Brown authors

Congratulations Maxine Beneba Clarke (‘Foreign Soil,’ Hachette), Omar Musa​ (‘Here Come the Dogs,’ Hamish Hamilton), and Alice Pung​ (‘Laurinda,’ Black Inc.)! One of the judges, Linda Morris, described the writers as ‘outsiders writing about what it is to be outsiders. Their stories are peopled by loners, the disenfranchised, the broken and the criminal. Barely a peep of white […]
ABDA image

Australian Book Designers Association Awards announced

Congratulations to the designers of these beautiful books: Jon Foye, ‘Mike I Don’t Like‘ (ABC Books/ HarperCollins); Bruno Herfst & Marc Martin, ‘Max‘ (Viking); Laura Thomas, ‘What Came Before‘ (Viking).
ABIAS image

Curtis Brown clients shine at the Australian Book Industry Awards

‘The 52-Storey Treehouse‘ by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton won Book of the Year and the award for Younger Children while ‘Foreign Soil‘ by Maxine Beneba Clarke won Literary Fiction Book of the Year. Congratulations all!
The Cracks in the Kingdom

Jaclyn Moriarty honoured at the 2015 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

The Cracks in the Kingdom, published by Pan Macmillan, won the Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature. The awards were announced at the NSW State Library on May 18. ‘Time slides around the world so strangely…’ It’s not easy being Princess Ko.  
The 52-Storey Treehouse

Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton’s The 52-Storey Treehouse has won the Nielsen BookData Booksellers Choice Award

Andy and Terry’s incredible, ever-expanding treehouse includes a life-size snakes and ladders game (with real ladders and real snakes), a rocket-powered carrot-launcher, a Ninja Snail Training Academy and a high-tech detective agency, which is lucky because they have a BIG mystery to solve – where is Mr Big Nose??? The award was announced at the […]

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent has been shortlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award!

Nominated by public libraries around the world, the IMPAC Award 2015 shortlist includes writers from Africa, America, Australia, Brazil, France, Ireland and the UK. Margaret Hayes, Dublin City Librarian, said that “while many of the stories reflect contemporary themes, they bring us characters facing timeless challenges of love and loss, of innocence and isolation.” We’re looking […]